Hardly any other photographer has shed light on East Germans and their livelihoods as intensively and from as many perspectives as Roger Melis (1940–2009). For three decades, the co-founder and master of East German photo-realism travelled from Berlin throughout the GDR, a country under SED rule that he often perceived as “silent” and petrified. In atmospherically dense, often symbolic photographs, he documents the everyday life of people in urban and rural locations, their working and living conditions, as well as more or less voluntarily executed political rituals in a real socialist environment.

Vivid photographs of writers and visual artists made Melis renowned in the 1960s both in the East and West. Many of his portraits of authors, including Anna Seghers, Heiner Müller, Christa Wolf, Sarah Kirsch and Wolf Biermann, subsequently became prominent in newspapers, magazines, books, calendars, posters and record covers, helping to shape the “face” of East German culture. Today, they are regarded as classics of the genre.

Melis shows the same care in portraying people from almost all social fields: workers and managing directors, farmers and foresters, craftsmen and traders, children and teenagers, functionaries and dissidents.

Melis preferred to seek out people where they worked, showing everyone the same respect. His portraits of East Germans refrain from depicting types, nor do they attempt to expose anyone. Instead they approach people gently and are open to the diversity of their experiences.

The empathetic portraits are complemented by a wide range of self-commissioned reports and striking milieu studies that combine to paint a multifaceted picture of the GDR. The images reflect the pride and confidence of East Germans, while also revealing signs of skepticism and resignation, as well as defiance and growing courage, which ultimately led to the system’s collapse.

The exhibition was produced in cooperation with the Roger Melis Archive and curated by Mathias Bertram. Two accompanying books entitled In einem stillen Land and Die Ostdeutschen have been published by Lehmstedt Verlag.

Close

»Mir ging es beim Fotografieren nur selten darum, einen besonderen, nicht wiederholbaren Augenblick festzuhalten. Der Augenblick, den ich immer wieder aufzuspüren suchte, war vielmehr der, in dem das Besondere, das Außergewöhnliche, das Zufällige von den Menschen und Dingen abfällt und sie ihr Wesen, ihre Eigentümlichkeit preisgeben.«

Eindringliche Fotografien von Schriftstellern und bildenden Künstlern machten Melis bereits in den 1960er Jahren in Ost und West bekannt. Viele seiner Autorenporträts, etwa von Anna Seghers, Heiner Müller, Christa Wolf, Sarah Kirsch oder Wolf Biermann, prägten fortan in Zeitungen und Zeitschriften, in Büchern und Kalendern, auf Plakaten und Schallplattenhüllen das »Gesicht« der ostdeutschen Kultur mit und gehören heute zu den Klassikern des Genres.

Mit der gleichen Sorgfalt porträtierte Melis Menschen aus nahezu allen sozialen Bereichen, Arbeiter und Betriebsdirektoren, Bauern und Waldarbeiter, Handwerker und Händler, Kinder und »Halbstarke«, Funktionäre und Dissidenten.

Melis suchte die Menschen am liebsten dort auf, wo sie arbeiteten, und begegnete allen mit dem gleichen Respekt. Seine Porträts der Ostdeutschen zeigen keine Typen und suchen niemanden zu entlarven, sie nähern sich den Menschen behutsam und sind offen für die Verschiedenheit ihrer Erfahrungen.

Den einfühlsamen Porträts stehen Fotografien aus vielfach in eigenem Auftrag entstandenen Reportagen und bestechende Milieustudien zur Seite, die gemeinsam ein vielschichtiges Bild der DDR entwerfen. Die Bilder erzählen vom Stolz und Selbstbewusstsein der Ostdeutschen, lassen Zeichen von Skepsis und Resignation, aber auch Trotz und den wachsenden Mut erkennen, der das System schließlich mit zum Einsturz brachte.

Die Ausstellung entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Roger Melis Archiv und wurde von Mathias Bertram kuratiert. Im Lehmstedt Verlag sind zwei Begleitbände, »In einem stillen Land« und »Die Ostdeutschen«, erschienen.

Hier geht’s zum virtuellen Rundgang …

Schliessen